The World Snooker Championship is the biggest snooker tournament of the season in terms of prestige and prize money. The first championship was played in 1927 and it was won by Joe Davis, who managed to win 15 titles in a row before retiring. However, after 1969 (so called “modern era”), there were a few players who dominated the tournament: Stephen Hendry (7 titles), Steve Davis, Ray Reardon (6 titles each) and Ronnie O'Sullivan (5 titles).
Since 1977, the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield is the host of the tournament.

2019 World Snooker Championship Live Streaming Options

The official live streaming will be provided by Eurosport Player. We strongly recommend you buy a subscription to their service.
If you cannot access the player, you might need a VPN (click here to learn more).

The tournament will be streamed live on Facebook, for free, for users in South America, North America and Asia. If you are outside that area, you need a VPN connection to any of those countries. Simply connect to any USA server with a VPN and start the stream. This is tested and it works for everybody.

Another option (not tested yet) is to use the Opera browser and turn on the VPN option near the URL bar.

However, if you want to use other live streaming links, you can find below a list of more live streaming options:

Recommended live stream:

1XBet Live Streaming - available almost everywhere in the world, you can watch all broadcasted matches (just like on the EuroSport Player) if you have a funded account - deposit money and then withdraw. It is free live streaming!

Even more live streams can be found on our Facebook page.

The event will be televised in Europe by the BBC and Eurosport. Eurosport is broadcasted in every European country in the standard cable package, while Eurosport Player (at an extra charge) will provide extended online coverage.

Who will win in 2019?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Top seeds 2019:

  1. Mark Williams
  2. Ronnie O'Sullivan (out R1)
  3. Mark Selby
  4. Neil Robertson
  5. John Higgins
  6. Mark Allen
  7. Judd Trump
  8. Kyren Wilson

2019 World Snooker Championship Prize Money

The total prize money for the 2019 edition stands at £2,231,000, while the prize for the maximum break (147) is now at £5,000. Here is the breakdown:

Winner: £500,000Last 48: £15,000
Runner-up: £200,000Last 80: £10,000
Semifinal: £100,000Televised highest break: £10,000
Quarterfinal: £50,000Non-televised highest break: £1,000
Last 16: £30,000147 break: £5,000
Last 32: £20,000147 break (qualifiers): £TBA

World Snooker Championship Preview

According to statistics, the most in-form players of the moment are Neil Robertson, Ronnie O'Sullivan and Mark Allen. Obviously, according to ranking-tournaments statistics. If we look at the total number of trophies won, Neil and Ronnie remain in the top, followed by Judd Trump and Kyren Wilson. Most likely, it will be much clever to follow the form throughout the season, the total number of title wins and/or the number of important finals.

In this case, we have Ronnie O'Sullivan (5 tournaments and 3 finals), Neil Robertson, Judd Trump and Kyren Wilson. According to the draw, Ronnie and Judd can meet in the quarterfinals, so it is certain that only one of them can reach the final and maybe win.

On the other hand, Kyren Wilson and Neil Robertson can meet in the semifinals, which gives Neil more chances to win the trophy.

As for the players out of shape, we could suggest Mark Selby as the best example. He has not won any title since September 2018. Also in this category is John Higgins, who played (and lost) one final this season. The final is exactly the match against Mark Selby. Both have not had any notable performances around the same time.

For now, the winner is hard to predict. Neil Robertson has the emotional stability that could propel him to the second world title, but the Australian may be tired after so many tournaments. Ronnie took a break and we do not know exactly in what shape he will return to the table. So everything is open. Last year, Mark Williams was about to retire after the World Championship. Nothing is sure in snooker, so let's enjoy this great tournament.

World Snooker Championship Titles

NameNationalityWinnerRunner-upSemi-final or better147sAppearancesWinrate
Stephen HendryScotland721232725.90%
Steve DavisEngland621103020.00%
Ray ReardonWales611001931.60%
Ronnie O'SullivanEngland511132520.00%
John HigginsScotland43802317.40%
John SpencerEngland31601816.70%
Mark SelbyEngland31501323.10%
Alex HigginsNorthern Ireland22701910.50%
Mark WilliamsWales31511910.50%
Cliff ThorburnCanada1261195.30%
Peter EbdonEngland1240244.20%
Shaun MurphyEngland1240156.70%
Ken DohertyIreland1230195.30%
Graeme DottScotland1230185.60%
Dennis TaylorNorthern Ireland1150214.80%
Terry GriffithsWales1130195.30%
John ParrottEngland1130233.30%
Joe JohnsonEngland1120812.50%
Neil RobertsonAustralia1030137.80%
Stuart BinghamEngland1010119.10%
Jimmy WhiteEngland06101250%
Eddie CharltonAustralia0280210%
Matthew StevensWales0260150%
Ali CarterEngland0231150%
Barry HawkinsEngland0140120%
Ding JunhuiChina0130110%
Judd TrumpEngland013080%
Nigel BondEngland0120150%
Perrie MansSouth Africa0120130%
Gary OwenWales012070%
John PulmanEngland0120110%
Graham MilesEngland0110120%
Doug MountjoyWales0110170%
Warren SimpsonAustralia011040%